Wind Turbine FAQs

    • Start with two questions: how much wind your site actually gets, and how much room you have.
    • Vertical turbines (the X-300, H1000 and H2000) start turning at 2 to 2.5 m/s and take wind from any direction, so they keep working where the wind swirls and shifts — around buildings, trees and rooflines. They run from 300 W up to 2000 W.
    • Horizontal turbines (M-400, M-600, M-800, and the L1, L2 and G series) want cleaner, steadier wind and a clear run at it. In clean, steady wind a horizontal of the same rating is usually the better harvester, and they scale further — 400 W up to 5000 W.
    • Match the turbine to your battery bank, not to the biggest number. 12 V suits a camper, 4WD or tinnie; 24 V a van, cabin or boat; 48 V a shed or remote block.
    1. The largest models run at mains voltage, and the L2-3000, G-3000 and G-5000 are ground-mount only — they need a 10–15 m mast and are not rooftop units.
    2. Rated power is measured at 10–14 m/s, depending on the model. What you get at your place depends on your wind, your mast height and the season — not on a number on our website.
    1. No. Wind turbines generate "wild" 3-phase AC power that changes voltage constantly with the wind speed.
    2. Connecting it directly to a battery or a standard solar inverter will destroy your equipment.
    • You must wire the turbine into a dedicated wind charge controller (pure-wind or wind-solar hybrid) with a dump-load resistor.
    • The controller converts the power to stable DC to charge your batteries safely.
  • Match the turbine and its controller to the voltage of your existing battery bank:

    • 12 V: compact mobile setups — caravans, 4WDs and camper trailers.
    • 24 V: medium setups — off-grid sheds, cabins and motorhomes.
    • 48 V: most of this range, and the sensible choice for a full off-grid system. Higher voltage means less current in the cable, so less loss over a long run and lighter cable.
    • When your battery bank is fully charged it stops accepting power.
    1. If a storm hits at night with the batteries full, a turbine with nowhere to send its power will free-spin out of control and can physically fly apart.
    • The controller prevents that by diverting the excess into the dump load resistor, which burns it off safely as heat and acts as an electronic brake to slow the turbine down.
    • Yes, you need one.
    • Usually quieter, but not silent — no turbine is.
    • Why a Horizontal is Louder: its blade tips travel several times faster than the wind, and blade noise climbs steeply with tip speed. The whoosh rises and falls as each blade comes round — a rhythmic swish that carries through wind noise more than a steady hiss does.
    • Why a Vertical is Usually Quieter: its blades turn more slowly, so there is less of that whoosh.
    1. What we won't Tell you: that it's silent. Every turbine gets louder as the wind picks up. The wind often covers much of it in a strong blow, but a close neighbour can still hear one in light to moderate wind.
    2. The manufacturer publishes no noise figure for the turbines themselves (the "65 dB or less" on some Specs tabs is the controller's), so we don't quote one.
    • On a building, use vibration isolators — a turbine bolted to a structure carries its sound into the rooms — and check your council's rules on noise, height and placement before you order a mast.
    • It will turn, but turning is not charging. The blades start turning at 2 to 2.5 m/s (about 7 to 9 km/h) — a light breeze.
    • Charging starts at the cut-in speed: 3 m/s (about 11 km/h) on every model except the X-300, which starts and charges from 2 m/s. Output then climbs steeply with wind speed.
    1. The rated figure is measured much higher — 10 to 14 m/s depending on the model, a 36 to 50 km/h wind, not a normal afternoon. Each product page's spec table gives that model's own numbers.
    • A gentle breeze keeps the turbine ticking over; it takes real wind to push real power into your batteries. Every horizontal model has its measured power curve published on its product page — work from that, not from the number in the product name.
    • Yes — connect the turbine to a battery bank first, through a dedicated charge controller.
    1. Never straight to an inverter. Connecting a wind turbine directly to a standard inverter will damage the equipment or cause the system to fail.

    The Correct Order:

    • 1. Wind Turbine — generates wild, fluctuating 3-phase AC as the wind changes.
    • 2. Hybrid or Wind Charge Controller — converts it to steady DC, and protects the turbine from over-speeding with an electronic brake.
    • 3. Battery Bank (12 V, 24 V or 48 V) — absorbs the gusts and provides a steady source of energy.
    • 4. Off-Grid Inverter — connects to the battery, converting stored DC into AC for your appliances.

    Why you Cannot Skip the Battery:

    1. Unstable Voltage: wind changes second by second. Without a battery to smooth it out, a direct-connected inverter would constantly cut out.
    2. Turbine Damage: when a battery is full or disconnected, the turbine loses its load. Without that resistance the blades can spin out of control in high wind and destroy the unit. The controller uses the battery connection to dump excess power and slow it down.
    1. This turbine generates 3-phase AC power and cannot be connected directly to a battery, a solar controller or a home inverter.
    • It must run through a dedicated wind charge controller (pure-wind or wind-solar hybrid) with a dump-load resistor. The dump load stops the turbine over-speeding and destroying itself in high winds once your batteries are full.
    • Installation and commissioning must be carried out by a suitably qualified and licensed electrician.
    • Cable, breakers, isolators and all protective devices are selected to suit your site and are the electrician's call, not ours.
  • It is almost always one of three installation issues. Check them in order.

    Quick Checks — Tick as You Go

    • Is the Meter Set to AC Volts (V~)?
    • Does it Spin Freely Once Disconnected from the Controller?
    • Is the Cable from the Mast Heavy Enough for the Run?

    1. The Multimeter is Set to DC — The Most Common Mistake.

    1. Measuring the three turbine wires with the meter set to DC volts gives a false reading near zero.
    • Wind turbines generate 3-phase AC directly from the stator. Switch the meter to AC volts (V~).

    2. The Turbine is Stalling Because of a Short.

    1. The blades turn heavily and slowly, or lock up: if any of the three AC output wires touch each other, or the controller's braking diodes have short-circuited, it acts as a magnetic brake — the turbine can never spin fast enough to build voltage.
    • Disconnect the turbine from the controller. If it frees up and spins much faster, the problem is a short in the wiring or a faulty controller.

    3. Voltage Drop from Thin Cable.

    1. Thin solar or automotive cable over 20 metres or more loses the power as heat before it reaches the controller.
    • Use heavy cable between the mast and the controller on long runs — minimum 8 AWG, ideally 6 AWG. Final sizing is your electrician's call.
    • The number in the name is a peak rating, not a promise.
    • A turbine's rated output is measured at a specific wind speed — 10 to 14 m/s depending on the model, which is about 36 to 50 km/h — and most sites see far less than that most of the time.
    • Your display shows what the wind is delivering right now, so it will sit well below the rated figure and move second by second as the wind changes. That is physics, not a fault.
    • As an example, the L2-2500 is rated 2,500 W at 11 m/s. On a decent steady coastal breeze of 7 m/s the manufacturer's own curve gives about 813 W. That is why we publish the full power curve on every horizontal turbine's product page.
    • Where these machines earn their keep is time: they keep charging through the night and through the weather that shuts solar down.
    1. If the display shows 0 W while the blades are spinning, that is a different problem — see the 0 W question.
    • Not necessarily — this is one of the most common questions we get, and it is rarely a faulty unit.
    • It is usually a quick settings check, or (on a first-time install) how the wiring and start-up sequence were done.
    • See our full Wind Turbine 0W Troubleshooting Guide for the complete walkthrough, or the Set-Up Guide — or contact us and we will help you sort it out.
    • Wire your bus bar and breakers before and after the controller, then power up in the right order. Getting the sequence right prevents almost all wiring issues, including the common "spinning but 0 W" problem.
    • Fit a breaker before the controller (turbine/solar side) and after it (battery side), landing on a DC bus bar.
    • Keep the turbine-to-controller cable run to 2–10 metres to limit voltage drop.
    • Power up in this order: battery breaker first, then solar, then wind turbine last.
    • See our full How to Install & Start Up guide for the complete step-by-step walkthrough and wiring diagram.

JUNCTEK KH-F Bluetooth Battery Monitor, 100 A, 400 A or 600 A Shunt

Regular price $199.00 AUD
Model

Delivering Outside Australia or New Zealand? Delivery is free. Import duty, customs charges and any tax on arrival are set by your country and are payable by you — we can’t collect them for you.

Tracking

Keep an Eye on your Gear

Simply enter the tracking number sent to your email to see exactly where your package is and when it is estimated to arrive.

Note: It may take 24-48 hours for tracking information to update after your order has been dispatched.

Track my Order

The Voltmeter Guesses. This Counts Every Amp.

The battery reads 12.8 V at dusk, so you leave the fridge and the lights running and go to bed happy. Somewhere around three in the morning the fridge goes quiet. By breakfast the food is warm, the bank is flat and the day you had planned is now a day of sorting out power. The voltage never lied on purpose — it just can't tell you much. A lithium iron phosphate battery holds nearly the same voltage across most of its charge, and any battery reads lower with a load on it and higher straight after charging.

The JUNCTEK KH-F monitor works the other way. Every amp going into the battery and every amp coming out passes through its sampler (a shunt in an insulated case, in a 100 A, 400 A or 600 A size — you choose), and the meter keeps the running count: amp hours left, percentage left, watts being drawn right now, charging or discharging, and a time-left estimate at the current draw. It shows all of that on a 2.4-inch (61 mm) colour screen you can mount in the dash or a cabinet, and on your phone over Bluetooth, where you also get voltage and current curves you can save and export.

Three things to know before it goes in. It counts from a starting point, so you tell it the size of your battery and how full it is, and it is only as right as that setting — the maker's full-charge reset fixes drift once the bank reaches full. Every negative wire in the system has to go through the shunt, or that current never gets counted. And the cut-off protections only cut anything off if you add a relay, which is not in the box.

What it Solves
  • The Voltage Guessing Game: a lithium bank looks "fine" on voltage until it suddenly isn't — the count shows how many amp hours are really left.
  • Free Camping in the Van: know before bed whether the bank will carry the fridge through the night or whether the generator or the drive needs to happen first.
  • Off-Grid Cabin or Shed: see what the solar or turbine actually put in today against what the house took out, instead of reading tea leaves off a voltmeter.
  • House Battery on the Boat: check the bank from the deck before you head out, not after the sounder and the lights start dropping out.
  • Checking from Bed or the Cab: pull the numbers up on your phone within about 10 metres instead of climbing out to look at the screen.
Key Features
  • Three Sizes, 100 to 600 A: the KH110F reads to 100 A, the KH140F to 400 A and the KH160F to 600 A, charging and discharging, and each works out the direction by itself.
  • Any Battery from 10 to 120 V: 12, 24, 36 and 48 V banks — lead-acid, lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) and other lithium chemistries, as long as the voltage stays in range.
  • Amp-Hour Counting: remaining capacity is the battery size you set minus what has gone out, plus what has come back in, to 0.001 Ah.
  • Automatic Full-Charge Reset: set the full-charge voltage, tail current and time in the app and it resets itself to 100% when the bank is genuinely full.
  • 2.4-Inch (61 mm) Colour Screen: voltage, current, watts, amp hours left, percentage, time left, temperature and charging or discharging on one page, with day and night brightness settings.
  • Bluetooth Phone App: live readings, settings, and voltage and current curves you can export as a spreadsheet — App Store for iPhone, a direct-download app for Android.
  • Low Battery Alarm: a built-in buzzer and an on-screen warning when the bank drops below the percentage you choose.
  • Seven Protection Settings: over-voltage, low voltage, charge and discharge over-current, over-power, high and low temperature — they trip an output that switches a relay you supply.
  • Temperature Sensor Included: a probe on a lead reads −20 to 120 °C, for watching the battery box or setting the temperature cut-outs.
  • Three Separate Parts: display, measuring module and cased shunt, joined by the supplied leads and a 5 m display cable, so the screen can sit well away from the battery.
What it won't Do
  • No Relay in the Box: the over-voltage, low-voltage, current, power and temperature cut-outs only disconnect anything if you fit a separate relay. Without one they are settings on a screen, and the maker says not to set them.
  • No Percentage Until it's Set Up: volts and amps read straight away, but it doesn't know your battery. Enter the capacity and the starting percentage first, or the percentage and time left mean nothing.
  • No Water Rating: the maker publishes no IP rating and says to keep it dry. It goes inside the van, cabin or boat, not on the drawbar or in the bilge.
  • Not Past its Size: the maker says not to exceed the meter's current range — 100, 400 or 600 A depending on the model. At 12 V, every 1,000 W of load is more than 80 A, so check "Which Model do I Need?" in the Q & A before you choose.
Where This Fits

The shunt goes on the battery negative and the measuring module takes a thin lead to the battery positive. Here's what usually goes in alongside it:

A battery holds enough current to start a fire, so the wiring is worth doing properly. If you're not sure about cable sizes, fusing or where the shunt sits in your system, have an auto electrician fit it.

Q & A

Which Model do I Need?

Pick the one whose range covers the biggest continuous current that will flow through the battery negative — usually your inverter running at full power or your charger at full output, whichever is bigger. Watts divided by battery voltage gives a rough figure: at 12 V a 1,000 W load is more than 80 A, and at 24 V the same load is about half that. Inverter losses push the real battery draw a bit higher than that sum, so check your inverter's and charger's own data sheets. Up to 100 A, the KH110F; up to 400 A, the KH140F; up to 600 A, the KH160F.

Will it Work on my 12V Lithium Battery?

Yes. Powered from the battery it reads anything from 10 to 120 V, which covers 12, 24, 36 and 48 V banks. The maker lists lead-acid, lithium iron phosphate and other lithium batteries, as long as the voltage is in range. Powered from the battery, its range stops at 10 V; the maker's other wiring option runs it from a separate 10–80 V supply and reads from 0 V.

Will it Cut the Power When the Battery Gets Low?

Not on its own. It has seven protection settings, but all they do by themselves is show a warning. To actually disconnect a load or a charger you need a relay, and that is not included. The maker's diagram runs the relay from its own supply at the relay's working voltage (12 or 24 V in their example). The maker doesn't publish a current rating for that output, and the relay has to suit the load it switches, so have an auto electrician pick it. No relay fitted? The maker says to leave the protection settings off.

Why does it Need Setting Up?

Because it counts amp hours rather than guessing from voltage, it needs a starting point. Enter your battery's capacity in amp hours and how full it is right now. Then, in the app, set the full-charge voltage, the tail current and a detection time — in the maker's example for a 12 V 400 Ah bank, above 14.4 V with under 8 A flowing for 2 minutes — and it resets itself to 100% every time the bank reaches full. With no current flowing you also save the zero point once. Have your battery's data sheet handy for the figures.

Where does the Shunt Go?

On the negative side. The battery negative goes alone to the stud marked BATT−. Every other negative — chargers, solar or wind controller, inverter, fridge, lights — goes to the stud marked LOAD−. Anything still wired straight to the battery negative bypasses the shunt and never gets counted. The thin lead from the measuring module goes to the battery positive; the maker says 13–16 AWG (about 1.3–2.6 mm²) is enough for it. Don't swap positive and negative — the maker says the meter can't handle reversed polarity.

Does the Lead to the Battery Positive Need a Fuse?

The maker's manual and diagrams don't mention one. Any wire taken off a battery positive should be protected close to the battery, so fit a fuse or breaker on that lead. Your auto electrician will size it.

What Size are the Shunt Studs?

The maker doesn't publish the stud size, and we're not going to guess it. Measure the studs when the unit arrives, before you crimp lugs onto your battery cable.

Which Phones does the App Work on?

iPhone on iOS 9.0 or later, from the App Store ("KH-F Series"). Android 5.0 or later, as a direct-download app from the maker's link in the manual rather than a Google Play listing; the maker says it asks for location permission when it installs. Bluetooth range is up to 10 metres by the maker's figure, which is with nothing in the way.

Can Someone Else Connect to it?

The Bluetooth pairing code is 0000 out of the box, and the maker says it returns to 0000 whenever the unit is powered off and restarted. You can change it, but only on the display, not from the app.

How Much Power does it Use Itself?

The maker gives about 0.4 W for the measuring module and about 0.5 W for the display. Our sum: about 0.9 W together, which is roughly 22 Wh a day, or about 1.8 Ah a day from a 12 V battery. You can set the screen to switch off after a set time with no buttons pressed, or when no current has flowed for 20 seconds; the maker gives no figure for how much that saves.

Can it Go Outside or Get Wet?

No. The maker publishes no water or dust rating and says not to use it in wet or humid conditions. Mount all three parts inside — a cabinet, the battery box lid or the dash — and keep the shunt somewhere dry.

What's in the Box?

The display, the measuring module, the shunt in its case (the size for the model you choose), a temperature sensor, a 5 m display cable, a 3-pin and a 4-pin connecting lead, a 3-pin power plug and a quick guide (per the maker's manual). Not included: a relay, battery cable, lugs or fuses.

How Long does Delivery Take?

Free Standard Delivery. 5 to 10 working days from the day you order. Allow 1–2 days for fulfilment. Regional and remote addresses can take longer. Ordering from outside Australia? Import duty and tax on arrival are yours to pay.

Specs

Download: JUNCTEK KH-F Series User Manual (PDF)

Specification Detail
Brand & Model JUNCTEK KH-F series: KH110F (100 A), KH140F (400 A) or KH160F (600 A) — choose one
Measuring Method Shunt, Fitted on the Battery Negative
Shunt KH110F: 200 A shunt, measures to 100 A · KH140F: 500 A shunt, measures to 400 A · KH160F: 750 A shunt, measures to 600 A
Current Measuring Range KH110F 0–100 A · KH140F 0–400 A · KH160F 0–600 A, charging and discharging
Current Resolution KH110F 0.01 A · KH140F & KH160F 0.1 A
Current Accuracy KH110F ±1% + 0.02 A · KH140F and KH160F ±1% + 0.01 A
Voltage Range, Powered from the Battery 10–120 V DC
Voltage Range, Separate Supply 0–120 V DC measured, with the meter run from a separate 10–80 V DC supply
Voltage Resolution 0.01 V
Voltage Accuracy ±1% + 2 Digits
Battery Types Lead-acid, lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4), ternary lithium and others within the voltage range
Capacity Setting Battery size entered by you, counted 0–9,999.99 Ah to 0.001 Ah; shown as 0–100%
Energy Count 0–9,999.99 kWh, 0.001 Wh Resolution
Power Reading 0.01 W resolution; the maker prints 0–72,000 W for the whole KH-F series, not per model
Sampling Rate Once per Second
Temperature Reading −20 to 120 °C, from the Supplied Probe
Protection Settings Over-voltage and low voltage 0–120 V; charge and discharge over-current 0–100 A (KH110F), 0–400 A (KH140F) or 0–600 A (KH160F); over-power 0–12,000 W (KH110F), 0–48,000 W (KH140F) or 0–72,000 W (KH160F); high and low temperature −20 to 120 °C; delay and recovery 0–99 s
Relay Not included. Control output (GND, OUT, VEXT) for a relay you supply, normally open or normally closed; output current rating not specified by supplier
Alarm Buzzer and on-screen pop-up; low battery warning settable 0–100%
Display 2.4-inch (61 mm) colour TFT screen, silicone buttons, English or Chinese menus
Bluetooth Range Up to 10 m with Nothing in the Way
Phone App iOS 9.0 or later (App Store); Android 5.0 or later (direct download from the maker)
Data Logging Records once per second by default; curves export to a spreadsheet, up to 12 hours per export
Wired Connection RS-485, Addresses P01–P99
Own Power Use Measuring module about 0.4 W; display about 0.5 W
Positive Sense Lead 13–16 AWG (About 1.3–2.6 mm²), Not Supplied
Shunt Stud Size Not Specified by Supplier
Display Size 100 x 67.8 x 30.7 mm
Display Panel Cut-Out 85.1 x 58.1 mm; fixing holes 93 mm apart
Measuring Module Size 107.35 x 60.36 x 26.75 mm; 4 mm fixing holes 100 mm apart
Shunt Case Size KH110F: 100 x 46 mm, height not confirmed (the maker prints 35.1 mm on one drawing and 31.5 mm in the manual); 3 mm fixing holes 91 mm apart · KH140F: 152 x 63 x 45.1 mm; 3 mm fixing holes 141 mm apart · KH160F: 152 x 87.5 x 45.1 mm; 3 mm fixing holes 141 mm apart
Display Cable 5 m
Other Lead Lengths Not Specified by Supplier
Water & Dust Rating Not Specified by Supplier — Keep it Dry and Indoors
Operating Temperature Not Specified by Supplier
Storage Temperature −25 to 50 °C
Unit Weight Not Specified by Supplier
Packed Weight & Size 0.6 kg; 250 x 180 x 50 mm (one figure on the maker's listing, not given per model)
In the Box Display, measuring module, shunt in case (sized to the model), temperature sensor, 5 m display cable, 3-pin lead, 4-pin lead, 3-pin power plug, quick guide
Not Included Relay, Battery Cable, Lugs, Fuses
Certification None marked on the unit in the maker's pictures or named in the maker's manual; we make no certification claim
Options Model: KH110F, 100 A · KH140F, 400 A · KH160F, 600 A

Watch Me

Everything we know about this one is written down: the Specs for the maker's published figures, and the Q & A for wiring, set-up and what it won't do.

Payment & Security

Payment Methods

  • American Express
  • Apple Pay
  • Google Pay
  • Mastercard
  • PayPal
  • Visa

Your payment information is processed securely.

We do not store credit card details or have access to your credit card information.

Wind Turbine FAQs

    • Start with two questions: how much wind your site actually gets, and how much room you have.
    • Vertical turbines (the X-300, H1000 and H2000) start turning at 2 to 2.5 m/s and take wind from any direction, so they keep working where the wind swirls and shifts — around buildings, trees and rooflines. They run from 300 W up to 2000 W.
    • Horizontal turbines (M-400, M-600, M-800, and the L1, L2 and G series) want cleaner, steadier wind and a clear run at it. In clean, steady wind a horizontal of the same rating is usually the better harvester, and they scale further — 400 W up to 5000 W.
    • Match the turbine to your battery bank, not to the biggest number. 12 V suits a camper, 4WD or tinnie; 24 V a van, cabin or boat; 48 V a shed or remote block.
    1. The largest models run at mains voltage, and the L2-3000, G-3000 and G-5000 are ground-mount only — they need a 10–15 m mast and are not rooftop units.
    2. Rated power is measured at 10–14 m/s, depending on the model. What you get at your place depends on your wind, your mast height and the season — not on a number on our website.
    1. No. Wind turbines generate "wild" 3-phase AC power that changes voltage constantly with the wind speed.
    2. Connecting it directly to a battery or a standard solar inverter will destroy your equipment.
    • You must wire the turbine into a dedicated wind charge controller (pure-wind or wind-solar hybrid) with a dump-load resistor.
    • The controller converts the power to stable DC to charge your batteries safely.
  • Match the turbine and its controller to the voltage of your existing battery bank:

    • 12 V: compact mobile setups — caravans, 4WDs and camper trailers.
    • 24 V: medium setups — off-grid sheds, cabins and motorhomes.
    • 48 V: most of this range, and the sensible choice for a full off-grid system. Higher voltage means less current in the cable, so less loss over a long run and lighter cable.
    • When your battery bank is fully charged it stops accepting power.
    1. If a storm hits at night with the batteries full, a turbine with nowhere to send its power will free-spin out of control and can physically fly apart.
    • The controller prevents that by diverting the excess into the dump load resistor, which burns it off safely as heat and acts as an electronic brake to slow the turbine down.
    • Yes, you need one.
    • Usually quieter, but not silent — no turbine is.
    • Why a Horizontal is Louder: its blade tips travel several times faster than the wind, and blade noise climbs steeply with tip speed. The whoosh rises and falls as each blade comes round — a rhythmic swish that carries through wind noise more than a steady hiss does.
    • Why a Vertical is Usually Quieter: its blades turn more slowly, so there is less of that whoosh.
    1. What we won't Tell you: that it's silent. Every turbine gets louder as the wind picks up. The wind often covers much of it in a strong blow, but a close neighbour can still hear one in light to moderate wind.
    2. The manufacturer publishes no noise figure for the turbines themselves (the "65 dB or less" on some Specs tabs is the controller's), so we don't quote one.
    • On a building, use vibration isolators — a turbine bolted to a structure carries its sound into the rooms — and check your council's rules on noise, height and placement before you order a mast.
    • It will turn, but turning is not charging. The blades start turning at 2 to 2.5 m/s (about 7 to 9 km/h) — a light breeze.
    • Charging starts at the cut-in speed: 3 m/s (about 11 km/h) on every model except the X-300, which starts and charges from 2 m/s. Output then climbs steeply with wind speed.
    1. The rated figure is measured much higher — 10 to 14 m/s depending on the model, a 36 to 50 km/h wind, not a normal afternoon. Each product page's spec table gives that model's own numbers.
    • A gentle breeze keeps the turbine ticking over; it takes real wind to push real power into your batteries. Every horizontal model has its measured power curve published on its product page — work from that, not from the number in the product name.
    • Yes — connect the turbine to a battery bank first, through a dedicated charge controller.
    1. Never straight to an inverter. Connecting a wind turbine directly to a standard inverter will damage the equipment or cause the system to fail.

    The Correct Order:

    • 1. Wind Turbine — generates wild, fluctuating 3-phase AC as the wind changes.
    • 2. Hybrid or Wind Charge Controller — converts it to steady DC, and protects the turbine from over-speeding with an electronic brake.
    • 3. Battery Bank (12 V, 24 V or 48 V) — absorbs the gusts and provides a steady source of energy.
    • 4. Off-Grid Inverter — connects to the battery, converting stored DC into AC for your appliances.

    Why you Cannot Skip the Battery:

    1. Unstable Voltage: wind changes second by second. Without a battery to smooth it out, a direct-connected inverter would constantly cut out.
    2. Turbine Damage: when a battery is full or disconnected, the turbine loses its load. Without that resistance the blades can spin out of control in high wind and destroy the unit. The controller uses the battery connection to dump excess power and slow it down.
    1. This turbine generates 3-phase AC power and cannot be connected directly to a battery, a solar controller or a home inverter.
    • It must run through a dedicated wind charge controller (pure-wind or wind-solar hybrid) with a dump-load resistor. The dump load stops the turbine over-speeding and destroying itself in high winds once your batteries are full.
    • Installation and commissioning must be carried out by a suitably qualified and licensed electrician.
    • Cable, breakers, isolators and all protective devices are selected to suit your site and are the electrician's call, not ours.
  • It is almost always one of three installation issues. Check them in order.

    Quick Checks — Tick as You Go

    • Is the Meter Set to AC Volts (V~)?
    • Does it Spin Freely Once Disconnected from the Controller?
    • Is the Cable from the Mast Heavy Enough for the Run?

    1. The Multimeter is Set to DC — The Most Common Mistake.

    1. Measuring the three turbine wires with the meter set to DC volts gives a false reading near zero.
    • Wind turbines generate 3-phase AC directly from the stator. Switch the meter to AC volts (V~).

    2. The Turbine is Stalling Because of a Short.

    1. The blades turn heavily and slowly, or lock up: if any of the three AC output wires touch each other, or the controller's braking diodes have short-circuited, it acts as a magnetic brake — the turbine can never spin fast enough to build voltage.
    • Disconnect the turbine from the controller. If it frees up and spins much faster, the problem is a short in the wiring or a faulty controller.

    3. Voltage Drop from Thin Cable.

    1. Thin solar or automotive cable over 20 metres or more loses the power as heat before it reaches the controller.
    • Use heavy cable between the mast and the controller on long runs — minimum 8 AWG, ideally 6 AWG. Final sizing is your electrician's call.
    • The number in the name is a peak rating, not a promise.
    • A turbine's rated output is measured at a specific wind speed — 10 to 14 m/s depending on the model, which is about 36 to 50 km/h — and most sites see far less than that most of the time.
    • Your display shows what the wind is delivering right now, so it will sit well below the rated figure and move second by second as the wind changes. That is physics, not a fault.
    • As an example, the L2-2500 is rated 2,500 W at 11 m/s. On a decent steady coastal breeze of 7 m/s the manufacturer's own curve gives about 813 W. That is why we publish the full power curve on every horizontal turbine's product page.
    • Where these machines earn their keep is time: they keep charging through the night and through the weather that shuts solar down.
    1. If the display shows 0 W while the blades are spinning, that is a different problem — see the 0 W question.
    • Not necessarily — this is one of the most common questions we get, and it is rarely a faulty unit.
    • It is usually a quick settings check, or (on a first-time install) how the wiring and start-up sequence were done.
    • See our full Wind Turbine 0W Troubleshooting Guide for the complete walkthrough, or the Set-Up Guide — or contact us and we will help you sort it out.
    • Wire your bus bar and breakers before and after the controller, then power up in the right order. Getting the sequence right prevents almost all wiring issues, including the common "spinning but 0 W" problem.
    • Fit a breaker before the controller (turbine/solar side) and after it (battery side), landing on a DC bus bar.
    • Keep the turbine-to-controller cable run to 2–10 metres to limit voltage drop.
    • Power up in this order: battery breaker first, then solar, then wind turbine last.
    • See our full How to Install & Start Up guide for the complete step-by-step walkthrough and wiring diagram.

Compare /10

Loading...