North Edge APACHE-D Free-Dive & Outdoor Watch

Regular price $159.00 AUD
Colour

Delivering Outside Australia or New Zealand? Delivery is free. Import duty, customs charges and any tax on arrival are set by your country and are payable by you — we can’t collect them for you.

Tracking

Keep an Eye on your Gear

Simply enter the tracking number sent to your email to see exactly where your package is and when it is estimated to arrive.

Note: It may take 24-48 hours for tracking information to update after your order has been dispatched.

Track my Order

Stop Guessing How Deep you Went.

You drop down off the rocks, kick back up, and you have no idea whether that was four metres or twelve, or how long you were under. Then you are back on the boat ramp, the phone is flat in the glovebox, and the first you know about the weather turning is when it hits.

The North Edge APACHE-D puts a depth reading, a dive timer and a log of your last dive on your wrist, along with an altimeter, a barometer with a pressure graph, a compass and a thermometer. It charges off a magnetic cable, the maker quotes 30 days on a charge, and it needs nothing else: no phone, no app, no signal.

Straight up about the water side, because the seller's own paperwork muddles it. The case is rated by the maker at 10 bar (10 ATM), which the case back prints as "Waterproof 100M". That 100 m is a pressure-test figure, not a depth you can take it to. The depth gauge in free-dive mode is quoted by the maker to 50 m, so 50 m is the ceiling, not 100. And a free-dive mode is a depth gauge and a stopwatch for breath-hold diving. It is not a dive computer, it does nothing for scuba, and it will not keep you safe on a breath-hold. Your buddy does that.

What it Does
  • Breath-Hold Diving: free-dive mode shows current depth, water temperature and dive time, then holds your last dive depth, last dive time and surface interval, with a depth alarm you set yourself.
  • Weather on the Turn: the barometer keeps a pressure graph and a weather forecast symbol, so a falling glass on the hill or the boat ramp shows up before the cloud does.
  • Finding your Heading: a digital compass gives a bearing in degrees and a direction, with its own calibration routine. Hold it flat when you read it.
  • Height on the Track: the altimeter works off air pressure and draws an altitude graph as you climb or drop.
  • Long Trips & Rosters: no phone to pair and a quoted 30 days a charge, so it keeps going through a swing or a week in the scrub.
Key Features
  • Carbon Fibre Case: PPS with carbon fibre, 49.8 mm across and 15.56 mm thick, about 78 g on the strap.
  • Steel Bezel: 304 stainless steel with a ridged edge, around 40 mm of glass the supplier lists as Hardlex.
  • 10 Bar Rating: the maker's case rating (10 ATM). The maker says swimming yes, but not showers, baths or hot springs. The depth gauge is stated to 50 m.
  • Two Display Options: a white display or a black display. The case and strap are the same dark grey on both.
  • Glove-Size Buttons: big pushers on the case, which the maker says work with gloves on and under water.
  • Magnetic Charging: contacts on the case back and a magnetic cable, about 2 to 3 hours from flat to full.
  • Auto Backlight: LED backlight that the maker says comes on by itself once you are under.
  • Nylon Strap: 24 mm pass-through strap with steel keepers and a buckle, 260 mm overall.
  • Delivery: Free Standard Delivery, 5 to 10 working days from the day you order. Allow 1–2 days for fulfilment. Regional and remote addresses can take longer.

Limits

It is Not a Dive Computer.

There is no decompression calculation, no gas setting, no ascent-rate warning stated anywhere, and no dive standard such as ISO 6425 or EN 13319 printed on it. Free-dive mode measures depth and time on a breath-hold, and that is all. Do not use it to plan or run a scuba dive. On a breath-hold it tells you where you have been. It will not stop a blackout, so dive with a buddy every time.

Fifty Metres is the Limit, Not One Hundred.

The title, the case back and one of the seller's pictures say "100M", the seller's text says "50-meter water resistance with depth measurement", and the pictures and parameter list say 10 ATM and a maximum dive depth of 50 m. We read that as a 10 bar pressure rating on the case and a depth gauge that works to 50 m. Treat 50 m as the most this watch is meant to go, and the depth figures past that as unknown.

Keep it Out of Hot Water.

The maker's own picture says swimming yes, but not showering, bathing or hot springs. Rinse it in fresh water after a swim in the sea.

No GPS and No Phone Connection.

No GPS receiver is listed anywhere in the maker's material and the listing says no wireless. It will not record a track, show where you are, send messages or call for help. If you need someone to find you, carry a PLB.

The Seller's Paperwork Disagrees on the Battery.

One line in the seller's attribute list says no rechargeable battery is included. The parameter panel, the product text, the charging pictures and the contacts on the case back all say it is a rechargeable lithium battery with a magnetic charger, and that is what we are selling it as. The battery capacity is not given, and the 30-day figure comes with no conditions, so expect less with the backlight and the dive mode in heavy use.

The Readings are a Guide, Not a Survey.

The altimeter works off air pressure, so a change in the weather moves the height reading. Check it against a known height when you can. The thermometer sits in the case, so on your wrist it reads your arm as much as the air or water. The compass needs calibrating and holding flat, and steel nearby will throw it. Depth gauge accuracy is not specified by the supplier.

Q & A

How Deep can I Take it?

The maker gives the free-dive depth gauge a maximum of 50 m and rates the case at 10 bar (10 ATM). The "100M" on the back is that pressure rating written as metres, not a diving depth. Keep it to 50 m or less.

Can I Use it for Scuba?

No. It is not a dive computer: no decompression, no gas settings, no dive standard printed on it. Free-dive mode is for breath-hold diving and snorkelling, as a depth gauge and timer.

Can I Press the Buttons Under Water?

The maker's text says the buttons are waterproof and can be worked under water. That is the maker's statement. No separate figure for button use at depth is given.

Can I Wear it in the Shower?

The maker says no: not for showering, bathing or hot springs. Swimming and the sea are fine within the 10 bar rating.

How Long does the Battery Last?

The maker's text says 30 days on a full charge, without saying how it was used. A full charge takes about 2 to 3 hours on the magnetic cable. The maker asks you to charge it fully before free-diving, and to charge it when the low-battery warning shows so you do not lose stored data.

Does it Connect to my Phone?

No. There is no Bluetooth and no app. Everything is set and read on the watch itself.

Which Display Should I Pick?

Both are the same watch in the same dark grey case and strap. The white display shows dark figures on a light screen; the black display shows light figures on a dark screen. Pick the one you find easier to read.

Will a Different Strap Fit?

The strap is 24 mm wide and threads under the case. We have not tried other straps on it, so check the width and that the strap passes under the case before you buy one.

Specs

Specification Detail
Make & Model North Edge APACHE-D
Watch Type Digital outdoor watch with a free-dive mode. Not a smartwatch: no Bluetooth, no phone app
Display FSTN digital screen. White display or black display, by option
Glass Listed by the supplier as Hardlex, 40 mm across
Backlight LED. The maker says it switches on by itself during a dive
Case Material PPS with carbon fibre
Bezel 304 stainless steel
Case Diameter 49.8 mm
Case Thickness 15.56 mm
Case Length, Lug to Lug 51.66 mm
Strap Nylon pass-through strap with steel keepers and a buckle, 24 mm wide
Watch Length 260 mm overall
Weight Approx. 78 g
Colour Dark grey case and strap on both options; the option changes the display only
Water Resistance 10 bar (10 ATM) as printed by the maker. The case back reads "Waterproof 100M". Maker says swimming yes; showering, bathing and hot springs no
Free-Dive Depth Gauge Maker states a maximum dive depth of 50 m
Free-Dive Screen Current depth, last dive depth, last dive time, dive time and surface interval, water temperature, time of day
Depth Alarm Yes. The maker calls it a safe depth reminder you set yourself
Dive Log Yes. Number of dives stored not specified by supplier
Outdoor Functions Altimeter, barometer with weather forecast and air-pressure graph, compass, thermometer
Time Functions Time and date, day of the week, world time, alarm, stopwatch, countdown
Activity Pedometer and calorie estimate
Other Vibration alert, one-press screen lock
Battery Rechargeable lithium. Capacity not specified by supplier
Battery Life The maker's text says 30 days on a full charge. Conditions not stated
Charging Magnetic charging cable. The maker says a full charge takes about 2 to 3 hours
Satellite Positioning None listed. No GPS is stated anywhere in the maker's material
Connectivity None. The listing states no wireless
Dive Standard No ISO 6425 or EN 13319 marking is printed. It is not a dive computer
Altimeter & Barometer Range Not specified by supplier
Depth Gauge Accuracy Not specified by supplier
Operating Temperature Not specified by supplier
In the Box Watch and magnetic charging cable. Anything else not specified by supplier

Payment & Security

Payment Methods

  • American Express
  • Apple Pay
  • Google Pay
  • Mastercard
  • PayPal
  • Visa

Your payment information is processed securely.

We do not store credit card details or have access to your credit card information.

Compare /10

Loading...